Alter ego, you so crazy.

I recently had a creative writing revelation. I realized that my notion of being a writer was strongly linked with accurately expressing myself. I’ve been writing fiction, but at the same time I’ve been wrestling with a burdensome responsibility to somehow use that fiction to put my truth on paper. What audacity and hubris! My truth isn’t necessarily important or enlightening, except maybe to me. And what a terrible way to approach creative writing. Memoir, sure. But, creative writing?

KatiePalmerFINAL_sm

I’m not even sure where this idea came from and I wasn’t aware of being a slave to it until this past week. It is betrayer to my creative life.

42-15600935

As you may know, we’re currently in the throes of annual NaNoWriMo craziness, which requires truckloads of creativity.  I sat at my computer laboring over my novel, honestly intending and trying to be creative, when the lightning bolt hit.  I’m my own worst enemy.  I travel the same well-worn ruts over and over again, trapped by my own experiences and perspective.

b9debf0fd78c64c5e548968719e86b6d

An insidious voice, quieter than a whisper, is constantly censoring and evaluating my thoughts. I’m changing that today. There is freedom is releasing myself from these constraints, but for me the execution is difficult. I am me, after all, and it’s hard to get away from that.

0bae092da3522ac368f2b47b259c2e09

So I’ve come up with a strategy.

b5bf1ffb5189bc90de69a79ba9178f3a

Today, instead of trying to express myself, I’m going to do the exact opposite. I’m going to imagine myself as someone else – an alter ego, of sorts – and write that way. Unencumbered. The concept seems simple, but for me it’s ground breaking. This other broad can be as wild and weird as she wants to be.

69e14d900d7a9e50b4f80b459cce4e61

Wish me luck!

e8f0ceaa946a53592b196100bcd7cb2b

The gorgeous art in this post is courtesy of, Stephanie Corfee, Featured Artist at Ink & Alchemy. It’s teeming with life and riotous color and it makes me very happy. The perfect art to spur creativity!

Visit my website to learn about my efforts to smear art & lit all over the planet. You can also find resources to use in your creative life and business.

10 thoughts on “Alter ego, you so crazy.

  1. Your new angle is an excellent idea… trying to get as far away from yourself as possible. I do more memoir’ish writing and feel invigorated when I step off into an alter-ego fiction piece. I especially feel free when I step into a different gender altogether. The content is fresher somehow.

    I love, love, love the art pieces. They just drip with personality, creativity, and celebration.

Leave a Reply

