Full circle.

Full circle. Loop back.  Finish what you started.

IMG_0413

Lately, I’ve been getting a whole lot of what I asked for. You know how I’m always running my mouth about change and transformation? Newsflash: it’s a whole lot more comfortable to talk about it than it is to actually walk through it.

IMG_0414

The past year has been brought so many incredible new things into my life. I’m not the same person now; that I can assure you.  The year has been one of incredible growth and glorious solitude and it’s rapidly drawing to a close. The first week of April marks a year since I moved into this lovely and quirky house. It has been a fine companion and I’m already mourning the loss. I sit this morning surrounded by boxes of books and piles of art. Is it significant that these are the first objects I pack? That when I think of losing all of my possessions in a fire, these are some of the first things I think of? Probably. They are my heart. They have kept me company, pushed me in new directions, and given me solace.

IMG_0417

I moved here with goals that sound simple on the surface, but which are in actuality exceedingly difficult:

Find my center. Seek myself. Learn silence. Create beautiful things. Stitch my life back together again. Just be. Let the silt settle around my toes. Hear the quiet voices.

IMG_0416

In many ways, I’ve accomplished these things but I understand now that I’ll never be completely finished with this crusade. It turns out that these things are the real work of my life. That the career is just fluff.  That every time I think I’ve grown strong enough or open enough, something new will drift into my life and teach me another important lesson.

IMG_0404

And so.

IMG_0415

Right now I’m learning the lesson that sometimes one must go backwards in order to move ahead. That if you just slam the door on certain phases of your life, you may be required to go back, take a seat, and hold some space for that person that you were. Loop back and say goodbye properly. It’s hard because I’m not one to turn back or slow down, but I think this is as it must be. And it is beautiful.

Today, I welcome the new adventures coming my way and I embrace the old Robin as gently as possible so that when it’s time to let go, I’m ready.

4 thoughts on “Full circle.

  1. You’re a beautiful person! I’ve been doing the same thing for the last 13 years, and only now realizing that it’s all a process – a journey – and it will never be “over”. Pity those who never undergo changes in their lives. Not an easy task to connect with someone to share the journey!

    • Thank you so much for reading and most especially for taking the time to comment! And I agree – not easy to find someone to share it with. In fact, sometimes I get a little discouraged because it seems to really narrow the options but then I remember that THAT is a good thing. Discernment! What a revelation!

      I wish you the very best in your journey, my friend. xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

